Please disable your adblocker on this website!
The website costs are covered by using ads that are non-intrusive. Please whitelist this domain in your adblocker software or plugin. Thank you.

Schakel alstublieft de adblocker uit!
De kosten van het hosten van de website worden betaald met advertentie-inkomsten. Voeg alstublieft een uitzondering toe voor dit domein in de software of plugin.

Lack of top speed!?

Talk in english about Honda Camino PA50 Hobbit mopeds

Moderator: -Camino Crew-

knutnukem
-= Newbie =-
-= Newbie =-

Lack of top speed!?

Post by knutnukem »

Hi there,
got my Camino about two months ago. All vanilla, no modifications. It is (now) in good shape for something built in (I think) 1982.
A friend of mine got it to run by taking it apart, cleaning each and everything and putting it together again (I'm not a motors expert, could hardly do an oil change on my car). It starts and runs reliable, but something is wrong I think. I could need your help please.
Symptoms:
Camino won't run faster than 25 km/h on flat ground. Does not react much on throttle (only goes a bit louder).
I think the lowest possible RPM before the engine stalls (goes off) is too high, even with no throttle applied it pulls on the Variator and runs at close to 20 km/m (that's too fast for "idle", isn't it?). I know how to lower the idle RPM, that's not the problem. The problem is that if I lower it, the engine dies as soon as I release the throttle. The idle RPM should be possible to set low enough so that there is practically no drag to the clutch, right?
Tried to make adjustments to the pilot airscrew and found out there is practically no effect if I turn that screw.